• Latest News

    A community-driven blog focused on the weirder end of the art collectible spectrum. Seeking new contributors - if you collect it, and we don't cover it here, CLICK HERE TO CONTACT US

    May 13, 2013

    Rat Fink's Revenge- an Ed Roth Tribute Show at La Luz de Jesus in LA


    Ed "Big Daddy" Roth (March 4, 1932 - April 4, 2001) was an artist, cartoonist, pinstriper, custom car designer and builder who created the hot-rod icon Rat Fink and other extreme characters. Roth was a key figure in Southern California's Kustom Kulture and hot-rod movement of the late 1950s and 1960s and is one of the fathers of Lowbrow Art. He turned the automobile into a moving sculpture and through his hot-rod-art and cartoon character Rat Fink inspired and helped launch the careers of artists such as Robert Williams and Rick Griffin. In the decades that have passed, Roth's original fans have grown up to become artists, filmmakers, mechanics, and executives. Roth has become an action figure, a bobble head, and has achieved timeless cult status along the way. At first it may have seemed that Rat Fink was originally drawn for us to laugh at, as ephemera.  Now he's the one laughing. Rat Fink's Revenge indeed!

    This collection of 40 Rat Fink statues is taken from the book Rat Fink's Revenge, compiled by David Chodosh with Ken Morgan and Michael Polis. The project originated as a way for the author and contemporary artists to exorcize their inner Fink-the sick monster inside that needs to come out and show itself to the world. All the contributors, for whom Rat Fink is part of their soul, were given the same foot tall resin model kit to customize.

    La Luz de Jesus in partnership with David Chodosh, is proud and honored to present this collection based on Ed Roth's most notorious Custom Monster featuring Kustom Finks by Anthony Ausgang, Glenn Barr, COOP, Ron English, Natalia Fabia, Mark Mothersbaugh, KRK Ryden and many others.

    Artist Roster:

    Anthony Ausgang
    Glenn Barr
    John Christenson
    Enamel (Yoshikatsu Sato)
    Ron English
    Natalia Fabia
    Craig Fraser
    (Daesuke Maeda)
    Jack "The Italian" Giachino
    Dave Higgins
    House Industries (Adam Cruz)
    Jason Jacenko
    Jim Koch
    Chris Lain
    Mike Languein
    M & K Custom (Makoto Kabayashi)
    Weldon McDowell Jr.
    Ken "Mitch" Mitchroney
    Mark Mothersbaugh
    Mr. G. (Minoru Goto)
    Brandt Peters
    Jake Peterson & Lauren F. Adams
    The Pizz
    Psycho Graphix (Satoru Taneda)
    KRK Ryden
    Chris Ryniak
    Shakin' Speed Graphics (Tomonori Shimizu)
    Tomonori Shimizu, Shakin' Speed Graphics
    Ray "El Vago" Smith
    Bwana Spoons
    Joe Sulpy
    Mike Sutfin
    Shane Syx
    T's Design (Yasushi Tanaka)
    Cemeron Tiede
    Derek Welch & Jason Bacon (UNKL)
    Wish (Yukiko Yamazaki)
    Chet Zar

    • Blogger Comments
    • Facebook Comments


    Post a Comment

    Please leave a comment! Benny will approve within 24 hours.

    Item Reviewed: Rat Fink's Revenge- an Ed Roth Tribute Show at La Luz de Jesus in LA Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Tenacious Toys
    Scroll to Top